Cascade’s cross country teams ran well at the Western Dubuque Invitational, Oct. 3, competing against some tough larger schools.

New personal records were set by Adam Knepper, Jonah Manternach, Davis Trumm, Nate Manternach, Anna Conlin, Lilly Topping and Grace Bower. Carson Nauman, Vic Kauder, Tyler Kaalberg, Sean Pry and Maddie Knapp improved on their times from the previous meet.

“I was very satisfied with the effort and performances of everyone. The total running time for the top five of both squads was the best of the year. Emma Ostwinkle and Cole Miller were again our top performers having their best times of the year,” commented coach Bob Davidshofer.

Miller led the Cougar boys with a 16th-place finish (17:45). Knepper was 19th (17:52), Nauman 43rd (18:40), Nate Manternach 55th (18:59) and Max Nadeau 63rd (19:34). One of the goals that Davidshofer set for the boys was to have only 30 seconds between their second and third miles and this was accomplished by both Miller and Nadeau.

“Max Nadeau, Vic Kauder, Dane Bertling and Davis Trumm alternating for our fifth, sixth and seventh counters has made the boys’ squad a much stronger team this year,” Davidshofer said.

Rounding out the finishers for the boys were Trumm 69th (19:39), Kauder 73rd (19:49), Dane Bertling 77th (20:06), Kaalberg 80th (20:27), Pry 97th (22:11).

Decorah won the boys’ team title with 41 points. Cedar Rapids Kennedy was second (76), Monticello third (92), Wahlert fourth (110), WD fifth (126), West Delaware sixth (137), Cedar Rapids Prairie seventh (165), Cascade eighth (173), Central DeWitt ninth (277), Independence 10th (313), Beckman 11th (342) and Maquoketa 12th (372).

Ostwinkle, a senior, continued her outstanding season finishing seventh with a time of 20:21. Topping was 41st (22:50), Conlin 60th (23:44), Bower 62nd (23:47) and Knapp 92nd (27:38).

Class 3A’s top-ranked Wahlert won the girls’ team title with 38 points. Western Dubuque was second (44), Decorah third (97), Monticello fourth (124), Cedar Rapids Kennedy fifth (127), Cedar Rapids Prairie sixth (130), Cascade seventh (234), Beckman eighth (260), Independence ninth (267), West Delaware 10th (271), Maquoketa 11th (281) and Central DeWitt 12th (282).

Sophomore Tyson Hill, 65th (22:19), was the top finisher for the boys in the junior varsity race. He was followed by Nate Manternach 69th (22:30) and Peter Noonan 98th (27:16).

In the girls’ junior high division, Hallie Kelchen won her second race of the year with a time of 13:26. Kennedy Simon was fifth (14:58), Sophie Miller 18th (16:39). Andrew Kaalberg led the junior high boys’ team in ninth place (13:44) followed by Trenton Topping in 27th (15:08).