The 34th annual Telegraph Herald All-Star Game was a hot one on the thermometer as well as on the diamond July 13, as the Eastern Iowa Hawkeye League (EIHL) broke a 2-2 deadlock with four runs across the last two innings to down the Prairie League (PL), 6-3, at A.J. Spiegel Field in Peosta.

With the score knotted 2-2 in the top of the eighth T.J. Deardorf (Dyersville) coaxed a one-out walk and later stole second. Ben Ogden (Worthington) delivered a go-ahead RBI double, but got to trot home ahead of Matt Gruszkowski (Dubuque Buds), when Gruszkowski followed with a two-run homer, propelling the EIHL to a 5-2 lead.

A double by Bryce Simon (Cascade) to the right field wall in the ninth plated Brett LaMere (Key West), who had singled, extending the EIHL advantage to 6-2.

Jimmy McDermott (Balltown) cracked a two-out solo home run, but Nick Woltkamp (Key West) induced a ground out to cap his complete game before being named the game’s MVP.

The PL opened the scoring with a lone run in the second, when a double by Tyler Ernzen (Holy Cross) chased home J.J. Connolly (Placid), who had singled.

Austin Savory (Dyersville) singled to left in the top of the third, driving in Lake Rossen (Key West) who had drawn a lead-off walk, tying the game 1-1.

Ernzen scored on an error in the bottom of the fifth to wrestle the lead back for the PL at 2-1, but it was short-lived, as Deardorf cleared the wall leading off the top of the sixth to draw the game even again at 2-2.