Janaan Cecelia Krapfl, 84, of Monticello, passed away Sunday, Jan. 10, at Dennis and Donna Oldorf Hospice House in Hiawatha.

John Clifford Umhoefer, 59, of North Mankato, Minn. passed away surrounded by his family Saturday, Jan. 2, 2021 at his home after a courageous battle with cancer.

Melvin L. Manternach, 87, of Monticello, passed away Tuesday, Jan. 5, 2021, at Mercy Medical Center in Cedar Rapids due to complications of COVID.

Margaret Mary Smith, 81, of Cascade, passed away peacefully Thursday, Jan. 7, at Mercy One Medical Center in Dubuque, after a courageous battle with cancer.

Margaret M. ‘Mickey’ Burlage, 91, of Dyersville, passed away, Friday, Jan. 1, at MercyOne Medical Center in Dubuque.

James R. “Jimmy” Reardon, 81, of Dubuque passed peacefully at home Jan. 6, 2021 after a courageous battle with cancer.

Donald J. Johnson, 87, of rural Cascade, passed away Tuesday, Dec. 22, at his home in rural Cascade surrounded by his family.

Mary Ellen (Moran) Scherrman, 100, of Farley, passed away peacefully Monday, Jan. 4, at Hawkeye Care Center in Dubuque.

Mary Ellen (Moran) Scherrman, 100, of Farley, passed away peacefully Monday, Jan. 4, at Hawkeye Care Center in Dubuque.

Mary Ellen (Moran) Scherrman, 100, of Farley, passed away peacefully Monday, Jan. 4, at Hawkeye Care Center in Dubuque.

Rev. Carl J. Manternach, 91, of Dubuque, formerly of Monticello passed away Friday, Jan. 8, at Stonehill Franciscan Services.

Karen Ann (Ambrosy) Kleppe, 59, of Anamosa, passed away Tuesday, Jan. 5, 2021 at her home surrounded by her family.

Gerald J. McCarthy, 81, of Bernard, passed away Sunday, Dec. 27, at the Iowa Vets Home in Marshalltown.

Betsy Michelle Conter, 44, of Peosta, passed away at her home Monday, Dec. 28, surrounded by her family.

Mary C. Fischer, 86 of Dubuque and formerly of rural Peosta, passed away Friday, Dec. 18, 2020 at Shady Rest in Cascade.

Clarence 'Jack' Hird, 100, formerly of Farley and Riverbend Retirement Community in Cascade, was called home to God Friday, Dec. 25, at Ennoble Manor in Dubuque, from complications of COVID 19.

Lois M. Sweeney, 85, of Farley, died peacefully Dec. 26, at UnityPoint Finley Hospital in Dubuque, suffering from a broken heart. She buried her husband, then three days later, long term care regulations kept her family from daily in-person visits. Visits every day from outside the window fo…

Ronald G. ‘Ron’ Kurt, 84, of Cascade, passed away Monday, Dec. 7, at Shady Rest Care Center in Cascade.

Irvin E. Kleitsch, 82, of Bernard, passed away Thursday, Dec. 17, at his son’s home in Stoughton, Wis. after a brief illness.

Eugene N, Hoffmann, 88, of Cascade, passed away Thursday, Dec. 17, at Unity Pointe Finley Hospital in Dubuque.

Paul P. Ehlinger, 88, of Cascade, passed away, Tuesday, Dec. 8, at Shady Rest Care Center in Cascade.

Irwin M. McDermott, 94, of Epworth, passed away Friday, Dec. 4, 2020 at his home in Epworth.

Ralph G. Muller, 80, from Monticello, passed away peacefully, Saturday, Dec. 5, at St. Lukes Hospital in Cedar Rapids.

Ida M. Breitbach, 102, of Cascade, passed away Wednesday, Dec. 2, at Shady Rest Care Center in Cascade.

Irene M. Carnahan, 100, of Cascade, passed away Friday, Dec. 4, at Shady Rest Care Center in Cascade.

Carol T. Dolphin, 75, of Cascade, passed away peacefully, surrounded by her family, Monday, Nov. 23, at her home in Cascade.

Patrick Moran, 72, of the Iowa Veterans Home in Marshalltown, passed away on the afternoon of Wednesday, Nov. 25. For 21 years, Patrick called IVH his home- they were the best years of his life, as he found the peace and joy, he lacked in the years prior. His brother David thanks IVH for the…

Joanne T. Otting, 82, of Cascade, passed away Saturday, Nov. 21, at Shady Rest Care Center in Cascade.

Charles A. ‘Charlie’ Hoefer, 90, a long-time resident of Epworth, passed away Wednesday, Nov. 25, at Shady Rest Care Center in Cascade.

Robert P. ‘Bob’ Hosch, 91, of Cascade, passed away Thursday, Nov. 26, at Shady Rest Care Center in Cascade.

Leonard Vincent McCarthy, 75, Bernard, passed away Tuesday, Nov. 24, 2020 at MercyOne Medical Center from complications due to COVID-19.

Marie D. Duggan, 85, of Dubuque, passed away Monday, Nov. 23, at Manor Care in Dubuque.

Rita M. Willenbring, 93, of Farley, passed away peacefully Sunday, Nov. 21, at River Bend Retirement Community, Cascade.

Norma J. Weber, 81, of Bernard, died peacefully at home Nov. 16.

Shirley Ann Hosch, 84, of Cascade, passed away Friday, Nov. 13, 2020 at MercyOne Dubuque.

Marilyn M. Neiers, 85, lifelong resident of Cascade, passed away peacefully Thursday, Nov. 19, at Monticello Nursing and Rehabilitation in Monticello, following a fall and a period of declining health.

Lawrence R. Koppes, 82, of Dyersville, passed away peacefully Monday, Nov. 2, at 1:50 p.m., (On All Souls Day) at MercyOne Medical Center in Dubuque.

Nicholas L. Wolfe, Jr., 88, of Cascade, passed away Friday, Nov. 13, at his home in Cascade.

Susan E. Werner, 69, of Epworth, passed away Wednesday, Nov. 5, at her home in Epworth.

Alfred E. Smith, 91, of Cascade, passed away Thursday, Nov. 12, at Unity Point Finley Hospital in Dubuque.

James “Jim” G. Leibold of Clearwater, Kan., a 24-year test engineer with the Cessna Aircraft Company, died Sunday, Nov. 8 at age 86.

Therese A. Puetz, 92, of Earlville, passed away peacefully Friday, Oct. 30, at her daughter’s home in Masonville.

Dolores Ann McQuillen, 85, of rural Cascade, passed away Wednesday, Oct. 21, at Unity Point Hospital in Dubuque.

Annette Kertels, 58, of Hinton, passed away Thursday, Oct. 22, 2020 at UnityPoint Health – St. Luke’s in Sioux City following a courageous battle with breast cancer.

Jean M. Oberfoell, 83, of Epworth, passed away peacefully on Monday, Oct. 19, at Hawkeye Care Center in Dubuque.

David Otting, Mount Juliette, Tenn., passed away Aug. 11, 2020.

Virgene H. Bockenstedt, 85, of Dyersville, passed away peacefully Saturday, Oct. 10, 2020 at MercyOne Senior Care Center in Dyersville.

Wayne J. Beitzel, known as Jim, 84, of Epworth, gained his angel wings on Friday, Oct. 2, at Mercy One in Dubuque.

Modesta Koerperich, 100, of Dyersville, formerly of Farley, passed away peacefully Oct. 3 at MercyOne Senior Care in Dyersville.

Mary L. Green, 74, of Cascade, passed away Wednesday, Sept. 23, at Mercy One in Dubuque.

Elizabeth A. “Betty” Woerdehoff, 96, of Cascade, passed away Monday, Sept. 7, 2020, at Shady Rest Care Center in Cascade.

Darlene Marie Offerman, 77, of Coggon, passed away suddenly Saturday, Sept. 5, 2020, at St. Luke’s Hospital in Cedar Rapids.